Sunday, October 23, 2011

Day 267...some much needed production


Oct 23

Holy moley, this was a productive day! I even fit a nap in, which I really needed. Last night Martyn woke up and couldn't be soothed or comforted for a long time. It probably took me an hour to get him back down, but once he went back to sleep in the crib, he stayed down until Eli got came out into the living room and started doing stuff this morning. Eli brought him to me, and he went back to sleep pretty easily with me, and let me sleep for another hour or so.

When we got up at 6:30, I had a burst of energy. Martyn was content enough to play in the crib for a little bit, while I started "doing stuff". Before I had even composed a list of things to get done today, I had already taken the recycling out, swept the living room and dining room floor, and gotten the diapers into the dryer.

Around 8:30 or so, I decided I needed a little air, and packed Martyn up in the backpack and took him and Sheba for a walk. He was pretty excited and chatting me up for part of the walk....more like screeching me up, right in my ear too. That's ok though, he was happy and that's what I like. When we got home, he was pretty mellow and ready to nurse down for a morning nap. Once I got him down in the crib, I had thought I would continue on my list, but then decided maybe I should take a nap too, while he was. I laid down on the couch, which is something I don't normally do and fell deep asleep pretty quickly. Martyn woke up, but was quiet, he didn't cry. I woke up to the sound of him calling for me (he sort of yells, or chirps just one syllable). He still didn't cry. I opened my eyes, and from where I was laying on the couch directly across the living room from the crib, I could see his two little hands grasping the top edge of the crib, and his little face barely peeking over, looking at me. It was super cute. It was like he said "Hey! Mama!" He sat back down and I closed my eyes and went back to sleep for another half hour. He never cried the whole time. There were a couple little toys in the crib with him, he just played with those and was content, my good boy.

When I got up, it was time to pack him up again and head to the store. Normally we shop at Winco, because they are superior, but I decided to go to Fred Meyer this time, just because I needed to get cash out and knew there was an ATM there. I decided after that trip, that Fred Meyer is totally inferior to Winco. They are over priced, and full of people pulling silly shenanigans that I don't feel like dealing with on Sunday afternoons.....although Winco has their fair share of shenanigans as well.
Came home and finished all the stuff on my list, including making dinner, and cooking up something new from the left overs from last night, for lunch tomorrow. I was pretty proud of myself for that. I blocked the kitchen with two chairs, and gave Martyn a bunch of Tupperware, and an empty coffee can to play with in the dining room and he was perfectly happy with that. That way I could see him and he could see me, but he wasn't under foot in the dangerous kitchen where I was cooking with hot oil and pans and things.

What a good day! I feel so productive. But man, I'm totally beat after all that. I think it's time for bed.

Saturday, October 22, 2011

Day 266...9 month pictures


Oct 22

Up early. Not too early though. Martyn made it until about 4 or so, and Eli went and brought him to bed. He let us sleep until about 6, and then wake up slowly until about 6:40. He woke up pretty happy, like he always does.
He's been super mama clingy lately, so he only wanted to be with me this morning. Which was pretty much okay with me. He got down on the floor pretty quickly though, and was just on the go go go.
We went to breakfast at Skyline, and Martyn was pretty much content to play in the booth and be a good boy. He fell asleep on the 8 minute drive home, and slept for an hour and half in the car seat.
After he woke up and played for a bit, I packed him back up in the car seat and headed over to get his 9 month pictures done with Grandma. It was pretty fun. Babies are tough customers, especially when they are clingy to their mamas. Luckily, my child is a total ham and flirt, and did a good job. We got some pretty cute pictures. It will be nice to hang some on the wall once we get them.
I went to the Barn with MJ afterwards, and visited for a few minutes before heading back home. Poor Martyn didn't get really good naps today, so he was kind of cranky this evening. Man, I'm beat! I want it to be my full time job to take care of him right now, but on the days I have him, it just drains me completely. I know part of that is because I'm tired from working during the week and on the weekends there's still no rest. Not no rest entirely, but less than I think I need sometimes.
Oh well. It was a good Saturday over all.

Day 265...it's been a long week


Oct 21

Well, I'm glad this week is over....it hasn't been bad, just long. I'm ready for some R&R with my family.
It looks like my Fridays are no longer going to be easy going, and I may be staying later on Thursdays and Fridays, at work. Boo. Oh well, that's good for the check.

I've been really agitated this week, for no good reason. At work today, I was super busy and I had to make an effort to calm myself down because I kept finding myself getting angry about being busy. That's silly! Busy is good (to a certain extent) because it means not bored and not out of work. Still though, I think what was making me angry about it, was that I would rather be putting all that time and effort into my family and I feel like I've been neglecting them all lately. I don't know that I actually am, but that's what I've been feeling like. It's really hard to work full time, and be wife and mom full time. I don't know how single mothers do it. I'm blessed to have such a wonderful husband and baby sitter to help me with Martyn. But if I were solely responsible for him, that would just be so hard.

Well, the week is over at least. Now it's time to relax.

Day 264....9 months!



Oct 20

Well, Martyn is 9 months today! I just don't understand how this happened, ha!
Here's what he's up to now.

Martyn is full on crawling. On hardwood floor, or smooth surface like linoleum, he still prefers to army crawl because it's just faster. But on carpet, he's getting pretty good at crawling crawling. He is pulling himself up on anything sturdy enough to hold him, and somethings not sturdy enough to hold him. He was hold onto the coffee table and walk all the way across one side and around the corner and back. He stands up in the crib (play pen) and peeks over the edge, and sometimes gets "stuck" and can't remember how to sit back down. Most of the time however, he's pretty good about remembering how to bend his knees and sit back down. He can transfer from one standing point to another, like from the coffee table to the chair, or the dog even (although she's pretty quick for him to grab onto most of the time.)

He has 4 very visible teeth, all right in front (two upper, two lower) and he's working on another on the bottom. He's eating little foods like Cheerios on his own. He can pick them up with his pincher fingers, though it takes a little concentration on his part. He's really interested in looking new things over very closely before he puts it in his mouth. He also really likes different textures and will spend long periods of time exploring new textures he comes across, like the texture on the wall....that's his newest fascination.

He's babbling constantly. There is hardly ever a time, when he is not making some kind of noise with his mouth, the newest thing is gurgling. He's also recognizing things and people from across the room or farther. He really likes watching people, as long as he doesn't have to go to new people. He's very clingy to me and Eli, and when I drop him off at the baby sitter's in the mornings, I have to sneak out while he's distracted so he doesn't freak out.

He loves banging his hands on flat surfaces, or banging toys on flat surfaces. He also really likes books. He likes turning the pages back and forth, though he's not really interested in sitting still while you try to read to him.

He's sleeping in the crib out in the living room, still about 10% of the time the night through, or almost the whole night through. Since we moved him out to the living room, I can get up when he wakes up, and nurse him back down in the recliner, and then go back to bed.
I got this new jump swing a few weeks back for him, and he loves it! He just bounces and bounces and bounces in it. It has a tray on the front, so I think he likes being able to lean forward a bit while he's bouncing.

He still really loves dogs. Every time he sees Sheba he just lights up. When we take him up to visit the grandparents, and both Sheba and Sissy are there, he is just in doggie heaven. I'm not sure because he likes to pat things, but I think he has started signing "doggie" when he sees Sheba or another dog.

He loves exploring new things. Even if he's just observing. When we go for walks, either with the stroller or with the backpack, he is very quiet and just looks around at everything. He takes it all in. It's really cool to watch the wheels turning in his head, as he looks around at things. He's also developing a taste for music. Eli had some music on the other day and Martyn was really into it. He was patting the table along with the beat, and bobbing his head.

He weighs about 20-22 lbs....that's my guess anyway, I haven't weighed him in a while. He's about 26-28 inches long or tall now that he spends most of his time upright. He's just so big! His hair is coming in nicely, and is still pretty red, though it's getting darker as it comes in thicker and there's just more of it to cover his head. It sticks over his ears sometimes and Eli wants to give him a hair cut, but I say no not yet. It's totally thicker on one side, than the other.

I think that's about all for now.

Day 263...catch up


Oct 19

Wednesday Wednesday! A good day with daddy.

Day 262...catch up


Oct 18
Tuesday Tuesday! My baby sitter took her kids and Martyn to the pumpkin patch yesterday, and she got Martyn a little pumpkin. He was having fun playing with it like drum, or ball. It was pretty cute. She said he really seemed to enjoy watching all the people.

Day 261.....catch up


Oct 17
Monday Monday!

Day 260.... catch up


Oct 16
Laundry day.

Thursday, October 20, 2011

Sunday, October 16, 2011

Day 258...Time to go to Grammies house!


Oct 14

We decided to head up to Eli's folks house tonight and spend the night, and the day tomorrow. Been feeling like we need a visit. So when I got home, from my totally not easy, relaxing Friday (like I thought I would be having) we packed up the boy and the dog and headed out. I had really been looking forward to it all day.
When we got there, Martyn was up for a little while, and just had a blast crawling all around the open living room, playing with grammie and grandpa and me and Eli, and pulling up on the coffee table...oh and harassing the dogs of course.
He's so funny to watch interact with his grandparents. He knows who they are, and wants to be social, but is a little tentative sometimes....I suppose it's just the age he's getting to. No big deal.


Day 257...Success!


Oct 13

Martyn went to bed in the crib in the living room last night, woke up about midnight and came back to bed with us for about an hour, went back down in the crib, woke up around 3:45 or so, I nursed him down in the rocking chair and put him back in the crib, and finished the night out in the crib! I was so excited to sleep until the alarm went off at 5 with out him in the bed!

That was a great way to start the day off. Still feeling good about work too. I think just the simple act of deciding to have a better attitude about the whole thing, has really helped, too.
I love picking him up from the baby sitter's after work. He's always so happy to see me. Although yesterday, his teeth coming in were really bugging him and he was crying and carrying on when I got there. She said he had been like that for the last ten minutes before I got there. Poor boy. Normally though, he gets to play hard with her kids all day, and is either asleep or super happy when I get there.
Sometimes when I look at him, with that mouth full of teeth, and long hair on top, he just looks so foreign to me. He still looks like my sweet baby, but he's starting to look more and more like a little boy and it kind of freaks me out sometimes. Still though, it's pretty awesome to see how he changes from week to week it seems....sometimes from day to day.

Day 256...Mid week again


Oct 12

It feels like it's taken me this far in the week to get caught up enough at work that I actually feel like I was productive during the day....the last two days were coping mostly, and learning. I'm finally getting it by today.
Still, I'm feeling much better about being there, than I have in while.
It's interesting to me, but no surprise, how much I think about and miss my family during the work day. I probably think about both Martyn and Eli at least every 5 minutes.
What blessings they both are! I wish I could help Eli get better. Monday morning he says to me as he's getting ready to walk out the door, "do you think I should stay home?" I could tell he was feeling pretty miserable. I asked if he had a fever, and he did not so he decided to go to work. He then texted me about 7:45 or so, telling me he was going home to sleep. I was glad he did. I had already taken Martyn the baby sitter, so there was no conflict there....he needed that sleep to help him heal for the rest of the week. It's frustrating when your loved ones are ill and you can't do much to help them, other than make them as comfortable as possible.

We're trying a new experiment this week....I took all the toys out of the playpen in the living room and put all of Martyn's bedding down in it. He's sleeping in the living room now. So far, it's going pretty good. I'm hoping to get him used to this so we can have our bedroom back indefinitely. We'll see how it goes.

Day 255...18 years


Oct 11

Today, is 18 years since my dad Dave Goins, passed away.
It's still strange for me to think about. That was such a long time ago, and now more than half my life ago....about 2/3 my life actually.

Dad would have loved Martyn. He always was the favorite uncle to all his nieces and nephews, and all the kids always loved him. Out of the now 9 grand kids, and two great grand kids he has, he only met the first two before he died....and he loved them both. I often wonder what he would think of my whole life now, if he could some how see it. I don't know if he would like my lifestyle choices that brought me to where I am today....but I know he would have loved Martyn. He would have enjoyed him a lot, had he had the chance to meet him.
When I was pregnant with Martyn, Eli and I decided we would not name the baby's first name after either of our parents. Martyn does have Eli's dads middle name though (Lyle). Out of my siblings, I'm the first one who did not name my first son after my dad some how. Both of my first male nephews have part of my dads name....My oldest nephew, Ezekiel Lamar, my sister's son, has my dads middle name. My second oldest nephew David Isaac, my brother's oldest son, has my dads first name.
I thought about naming Martyn with both my dad and Eli's dads middle name....but Eli was insistent on only one middle name (since he himself has two middle names and it caused much confusion in his life). I was ok with that too, because Martyn Lyle Lamar Loehrke, or Martyn Lamar Lyle Loehrke, is just WAY too many L's.
Even still, I'm kind of proud of the fact that my first son is not named after my father.....I feel like that name has already been used. I don't think for any future sons I may have, I'll want to name them after my dad either. Not that I'm not proud to be his daughter, but it's just a different time now I guess.

p.s. My mom just pointed out that it was actually 19 years, not 18. What the heck am I thinking? Ha!

Day 254...making the switch


Oct 10

So this is the week to get everything switch over from the old system to the new, at work. Kind of exciting.
It's funny how feelings can change so easily. Just a few weeks ago I was just ready to pitch a fit at work and quit, and now I'm actually excited to come to work because of this new system.
I still would rather not have to work, but for now I'm content with my current job.

Martyn totally has both upper and lower front teeth showing. He's been a bit cranky and fussy at bed time because of it, poor baby. Eli is sick with a cold. He always seems to get hit with colds worse than I do....well not always, but it just seems to me like it happens a lot. If he catches a cold from me, I'll not have it that bad, and when he gets it, it just really does a number on him. Martyn seems to be ok, just kind of snotty and a little congested. I don't think he actually has a cold though, I think his snot is from congestion.
That boy is just pulling up like crazy on anything he can get his hands on. It's super cute, and really hard. We just have to watch him like a hawk all the time. I don't mind so much, it's totally worth it.

Day 253....productivity


Oct 9

I like Sundays in general. I especially like productive Sundays though. Today was one of those days. I took Martyn to the store, actually three different stores, we got some laundry done, got dinner for a friend with a new baby made and delivered (all the way to Gresham) got dinner made for us at home.....Got the kitchen mostly cleaned up.
It was a good day.
Martyn was just happy all day, and in a good mood...good for playing all day.

I like taking him to the store now that he can sit up in the shopping cart. He just sits there, all buckled in, and looks around and inter acts with people. It's really fun to watch. I'm looking forward to seeing what kind of little boy he will be.

Saturday, October 8, 2011

Day 252...Knitting club...round two


Oct 8

Martyn woke up at the normal time today, around 5:30 and didn't want to be convinced to go back to sleep after a diaper change. He was playing on the bed between Eli and me, and Eli says to me, "I wonder why he's not tired at all?" I laughed, and said "he doesn't know it's the weekend!"

It's true, he sure doesn't. That's ok though. Eli got up with him around 615 or so and let me sleep for another hour. He was going to make me breakfast in bed, but Martyn thwarted that plan.....he started having a melt down, which woke me back up and I got up and got dressed in pj's and started to come out to the living room to take him. Eli, my wonderful, awesome husband, was trying to shoo me back to bed the whole time. It was a very sweet idea. I sure love him.

He did fix us breakfast, and we scarfed it down. Then headed over to the farmers market, which we haven't been to for weeks. It was still pretty early, so we were able to do a full walk through, and then go back and hit our favorite stands and get out before it started getting too crowded. It felt refreshing to get a bunch of good fruits and veggies again. Lots of peppers and lots of apples....which is exactly what we ended up getting. Oh, and HUGE carrots, which we also got a bunch of.

After the farmers market, we went and got new shoes for both of us. I decided I was going to go to Mary Jane's knitting club and take Martyn to visit, but I didn't get out of the house in a timely manor after our morning excursion.
I didn't end up getting over there until a bit after 2, and most of the ladies were ready to leave when I got there. I did get to visit for a little while with a few of the ladies. Martyn was a hit, as usual. The last time I brought him to knitting club, I think he was only 11 weeks old.

It was a good day. I decided I would try putting him to bed in the crib out in the living room, instead of in our room. We'll see how it goes.


Day 251...Thank the Lord for Fridays!


Oct 7

Pretty easy, slow day at work today. It was good to get some more time to play around on the demo new system, and fire off a few more help questions to our internal help staff.

I got everything ready to go for Monday, to best of my ability, and I'm really looking forward to Monday, for once. I feel like I'm ready, and I'm hoping the rest of the staff at my shop is too. I'm curious to see how we're all going to handle this new system at work on Monday.

Lately at work, I've given in, to having a bad attitude about a lot of different things, and people. I've decided I don't want to do that. I know it's not always possible to have a good opinion of people, but as my mom always taught us growing up, "look for the good things, instead of pointing out the bad"....my mom sure was, and still is, a very wise woman.
It's easy to point out the bad in people. It's easy to find things that bother, or annoy you and then hold that against them. It's a lot harder to look for things you like about people, and then encourage and build them up continually....but lately, more and more, I'm feeling like that is what I need to be doing (again) at work especially....but at home too.



Day 250... fun with the loot


Oct 6

At the huge consignment sale last night,
I got Martyn a new jump swing. It has a nifty little tray on the front, that he can either hang on to, or have stuff on, and the spring is a lot softer than the other jump swing. Also, he just seems to fit into it much better. When Martyn was born, and my wonderful sister in law, Evensong, came to take care of me, she brought her jump swing for her little baby girl, Aria. It was the same as this new one that I got (for just $15!) and Aria was just a month older than Martyn is now. I thought that was kind of fun.
Eli sent me a picture today at work, of Martyn in the jump swing, with his new little cowboy hat on (not this picture in the blog) and he said Martyn LOVED the new jump swing. I wasn't having a particularly bad day or anything like that, but that picture totally made my day. It sounded to me like they were both enjoying it, what with all the giggles and jiggles and laughs and smiles, between the both of them. (I'm smiling just thinking about it.)

Martyn is definitely set for toys for a while though. I also found him some new chew toys, which he seems to be really enjoying so far. That also makes me glad.
Tonight seems to be my only night this week where we didn't have something going on, and I get to spend time with my fellows....tomorrow I have to stay late at work, to make sure everything gets entered in, for the new system, which should be up and running live, on Monday. It was really good to come home to my guys, and spend time with them, and not have to go anywhere....just relax. It wasn't a bad day, but I just missed them both a lot today.

Day 249...the sick germs have spread


Oct 5

Poor Eli, has caught my cold. I don't know why, but when it comes to colds, he always seems to get them worse initially, than I do.
For me, this cold was just a little bit of runny, or stuffy nose and a slightly sore throat and a slight head ache. I didn't really have body aches, or anything like that.

This morning when I got up, of coarse Martyn decided he was ready to just be wide awake as well and that meant that Eli had to get up and take care of him while I was getting ready. Poor guy, he was feeling terrible and all he wanted was to just go back to bed. But he couldn't do that.

That's the down side of all this lovely cooler weather, is that everyone starts the snuffle-sniffle routine, and passes it back and forth in the house hold. So far, I don't think Martyn has gotten sick from either of us, though he is having the teething snots really bad right now. He doesn't seem to be displaying any other signs of discomfort related to having a cold. Such a healthy boy.

I forgot my phone at home this morning, and I figured it would be no big deal to just leave it at home for the day. I know it's really a pain in the butt for Eli to bring me anything at work, in his truck. So I was just going to let it be. When I got to work however, I discovered I also left half my pumping bottles at home, and I didn't have a clean storage water bottle available like I did the last time I did that. So I had to have him come all the way down to my work with the extra bottles and my phone. He got pulled over for a blinking tail light, but didn't get a ticket. He was convinced that he got out of having a ticket because he had Martyn in the truck with him. I felt so bad about that, and apologized profusely.
He sure is wonderful, to be willing to put up with those kinds of shenanigans from his silly wife....especially when he's not feeling well at all. I love him.

After work, I came home for just a little while, nursed Martyn then took off to meet up with my friend at this awesome, huge consignment sale that happens in Portland 2 times a year. I had stumbled upon it last spring, but I went on the last day it was open. I still found some good stuff, but this year I took my friend along with me to the first time mom pre-sale. It was awesome! We both got loaded up with a bunch of good stuff. This was one of the few times I was actually exited to go shopping, and had a good time doing so! I ran into my baby sitter there too, which was kind of fun. I think next year, I'm going to get my stuff together and sell at the consignment sale....well maybe not next spring, but next fall.

Day 248...Surprisingly, not one of those days


Oct 4

I thought today was going to be "one of those days"....where everything just throws you off and you're scrambling to catch up.

I got all the way over to the baby sitter's house, and realized I left the milk bottles at home. I had put baby food in the diaper bag, and she did have 1 bottle of milk left over from yesterday, but that wasn't enough. She had planned to go visit a friend today too, and I didn't want her to have to be stuck at home with the kids waiting for me to bring milk bottles at lunch time....so I went all the way back home to get them. That made me about an hour and half late to work. Lame!
I was surprised however, when I got to work I didn't feel like I thought I would. I was still in really good spirits, and kind of looking forward to the day. The whole day, was a little behind and trying to keep caught up, but not overwhelmed and anxious like I sometimes get when I start the day off like that.
It was a nice change.
I'm a little stuffed up and have a bit of a sore throat occasionally, but feel ok over all. I'm enjoying the back to normal Oregon weather....rain. It makes me feel invigorated sometimes....I don't know why. I think I do sleep better, or at least deeper, when it's raining and cool outside.

Day 247...preparing for change


Oct 3

So at work, we're getting ready to switch computer management systems in a week. We have the new system up as s demo, and I can go into it and play around to learn it when I have time.

Today, I had a lot of time, which was cool because it made me feel good to learn this system. I asked a lot of questions to our internal help center and I feel like after just one day, I've pretty well got it.
I'm sure it will still be a huge learning curve for me and everyone else, but I think it's going to go smoother than we all originally thought.
Martyn's little teeth are just coming in all over the place. His left side upper front tooth hasn't quite popped through, but his little gums are all swollen around it. When I picked him up from my baby sitter today, he was just crying and crying (which I don't ever remember happening) and she said for about 15 or 20 minutes before I got there, he was just carrying on and couldn't be soothed...poor baby. Those toofs are hurting him. At least it won't be forever. I put him on the boob right away, and that seemed to really help. But when we got home from her house, he was so mama clingy that it was all I could do, to just sit with him until he fell asleep.
Which threw off his little sleep cycle. That, or his sleep cycle is just changing. I've noticed he's been wanting to take a little nap when we get home in the evening, and then wake up around 7 or 8, and then go to bed for the night a little later than had been used to...around 9 or even 10 sometimes. That's hard for me and Eli.
We like to have a little time to our selves in the evening, and putting him to bed around 8 was good for that. Also, it's just a lot easier if I can put him down a while before we come to bed so he's nice and asleep when we do, so we don't wake him up. Once he wakes up, he wants to get into bed with us.
Oh well. Things are changing at work and it looks like things are changing with the boy too...that's not a bad thing. Just different.

Sunday, October 2, 2011

Day 246...two girls and a boy


Oct 2

So we're dog sitting Sissy this weekend, and I'm really enjoying her...Sheba is too. She's a funny puppy. She really likes Martyn, and he just loves her (he loves Sheba too.) She has such a good temperament, I'm very pleased with my mom and dad in law for picking her.
I just hung out with Martyn again today, and soaked him in. He was kind of mama clingy all day, and we took a nap in the chair...snuggle snuggle snuggle. When he woke up, he was all smiles. I decided that would be a good time to take him and the two girls (Sheba and Sissy) up to Forrest park for a mini hike.
I put the dog back pack on Sissy, since she's the young whipper snapper full of energy. That was a good choice. Sheba was a good girl, and kept Sissy in line, and back pack did it's job and restricted her movements enough, and wore her out. Martyn was happy and content to just observe everything in the woods from the baby back pack. He was quiet, and curious, looking around a lot and kicking his little feet.
The dogs were really good, they would run ahead until I couldn't see them and stop and wait for me to come around the corner before either coming back to me, or running ahead a bit more. They both got so wore out by the time we started heading back to the car that they were perfectly happy to just walk along behind me.
Another great weekend.

Day 245...Such a relaxing day


Oct 1

Wow! How did it get to be October already? This year is 3/4 over! I'm glad it's finally fall. This is my favorite season of the year.
I'm looking forward to all the firsts the rest of this year, for Martyn....First Halloween, first Thanksgiving, first Christmas....That's exciting!
Today was a good day. Despite getting up WAY earlier than I wanted to on my main sleep in day, and having to wait several hours for Eli to wake up since he stayed out at geek boy game night until 4 in the morning.....Actually, I didn't mind that so much. I enjoyed a little extra time with the boy. We ended up going back sleep on the couch around 9 or so, on the couch. Ah, that was lovely. Eli got up a little before noon, and we got ourselves together enough to go get some food. Martyn, as usual, flirted with a table full of girls behind us, and everyone else who walked by....silly boy.

When we came home, we had thought we might take the dogs for a walk in Forrest park, but Martyn crashed out on me in the rocking chair and we ended up sleeping the afternoon away. Also just lovely. He is so snugly and I just love him.
We all had a nice evening in too, and I got in some good snuggle time with my wonderful husband. My favorite kind of Saturday.

Saturday, October 1, 2011

Day 244...time to kick ass!


Sept 30

So my company is in the process of switching management systems and I had an online training class for it today...a webinar. I think it will be pretty good when we get all switched over, and practiced up...but it's also going to take a lot of getting used to...a lot of forming new habits and letting go of old ones, which is hard to do.
I decided I want to learn this new system better than anyone, and kick ass at it.... I sent Eli a text message today, saying just that, except I accidentally put in "lick ass", ha! He texted me back and said licking ass was gross. That gave me a good chuckle for a few hours afterward.

I'm glad my hormones seem to be back to normal, and I can function on 'regular emotion', rather than trying to deal with 'high emotion'....still getting used to the idea of having a cycle again, and the fluctuation of emotions that go along with it.

Eli and I are dog sitting Sissy for Walt and MJ this weekend, and Eli had to go pick her up from the airport. He said he had a good little adventure with Martyn in the process. He drove to the MAX, then took the boy on the MAX down to the airport. He said once Martyn woke up, he got him out of the car seat and let him stand up on one of the seats on MAX and hold onto the little pole, just like any other Portlander. Thankfully he didn't let the boy try to put his mouth on that pole, yuck! He didn't get a picture of it, but he said it was pretty cute. Once they got to the airport, they visited with Grandma and Grandpa for a bit, then took their car keys and car and dog and came home to me and Sheba.
Sheba is pretty happy to have her little Sissy girl here. Man, they totally look like they could be from the same litter, even though Sheba is a couple years older than Sissy.....they're almost the same size now.
Eli went to an impromptu geek boy game night tonight, so Martyn and I just hung out with dogs. It was a nice, relaxing evening. Martyn is just pulling up on everything, the coffee table especially and kind of slowly trying to walk around it. He's just taking baby steps, literally. This morning, he was pulling up on the coffee table and then lost his balance and bonked his mouth on the coffee table and fell over. I got him up and was holding him, and noticed a little bit of blood on his hand, and then looked at his mouth and he totally had a fat lip. Poor boy! Kind of made my heart skip a bit, to see even just a little bit of blood in his mouth. I wonder how I'm going to handle the first time he gets hurt and I have to patch up a bloody cut.
Since I'm the calm in an emergency one, between Eli and I....I'm guessing I'll probably do just fine. But I won't like it.

Day 243...crazy weather


Sept 29

What the heck? It was like 90 last week, then cooled off nicely for the early part of this week, and now it's back up to mid 80's. I could do with out the major fluctuation. It makes my body think it should catch a cold.
Actually, I'm feeling ok. My throat is a little sore and my nose is runny, but other than that I feel fine. Martyn seems fine too, other than the runny nose, which I'm pretty sure is due to teething.
Eli said he was a little stuffy too, but I'm thinking it's more the weather change than anything else.
Nothing really major going on I guess.